[Solved] Story/chapter selection - Very confused please help

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
SethRiley
Regular

[Solved] Story/chapter selection - Very confused please help

#1 Post by SethRiley »

Greetings fellow RenPy enthousiasts. I am new to both Renpy and this forum, please forgive me if my question seems ill-advised.

I am trying to make a visual novel consisting of 8 short stories, which are immediately accessible through a story/chapter select screen. The user first gets presented a title screen, which is the main menu. An image button there brings up the chapter screen.

from screens.rpy:

Code: Select all

imagebutton idle "gui/start.png" xpos 110 ypos 320 action Show("chapter", transition=dissolve)

screen chapter():

tag menu

style_prefix "chapter_menu"

add gui.chapter_menu_background

imagebutton idle "gui/chapter1_button.png" xpos 24 ypos 24 action Start("story01")
    imagebutton idle "gui/chapter2_button.png" xpos 336 ypos 24 action Start("story02")
    imagebutton idle "gui/chapter3_button.png" xpos 648 ypos 24action Start("story03")
    imagebutton idle "gui/chapter4_button.png" xpos 960 ypos 24 action Start("story04")
    imagebutton idle "gui/chapter5_button.png" xpos 24 ypos 336 action Start("story05")
    imagebutton idle "gui/chapter6_button.png" xpos 336 ypos 336 action Start("story06")
    imagebutton idle "gui/chapter7_button.png" xpos 648 ypos 336 action Start("story07")
    imagebutton idle "gui/chapter8_button.png" xpos 960 ypos 336 action Start("story08")

imagebutton idle "gui/back.png" xpos 12 ypos 639 action Show("main_menu", transition=dissolve)