Various newbie questions

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
LuckyBerry
Projects: aRomancetherapy!, The White Castle (title subject to change), and oh so much more lol

Various newbie questions

#1 Post by LuckyBerry »

Hello everyone, nice to meet you :) Well, Exactly What It Says On The Tin: ren'py newbie here and i've got various things I'd like to add to my projects but that I haven't found out how to do (especially since I'm using the new GUI interface and there are many outdated resources) so any help (tutorials I should see, your own explanations, etc) would be really appreciated ;A;

So here's what interests me:

How to...
  • Add a splashscreen
    Make an interactive screen for a "daily planner" (player chooses where to go from a map)
    Make the background interactive (player can inspect objects in the background image)
    Add a gallery and in general how to add new screens apart of the default start, load, about, etc. (like an extras thing, etc)
    ...Change the font of the quickmenu :lol:
Well, so yeah, that hehe, thanks in advance and sorry for bothering you with my no0b problems :mrgreen: Also, if anyone is kind enough to write their own explanation, please don't forget to mention exactly in which rpy file the code should be placed (script, options, gui, etc), sometimes something as simple as that has confused me :oops:

Ana
Regular

Re: Various newbie questions

#2 Post by Ana »

I think I could probably answer two of those questions, mostly because I've been playing around with them in my own game lol..