Show Character doesn't work in screens?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
olddog
Projects: Kismet, a TF/TG game

Show Character doesn't work in screens?

#1 Post by olddog »

Hi!

I'm starting with Ren'Py and getting into a bit. I've got a basic world set up with a map and rooms (placeholder image since I'm not an artist) and am now going through to start working on dialogue.

At the start of my game, I show characters chatting back and forth.

To handle the rooms, I show screens that contain the background, imagebuttons and imagemaps. And then I start a ui.interact loop to wait for the user to do something. I'm not sure if this is the proper way these days but I found the code for it and it's working.

However, after loading one of the rooms. "show <character>" no longer seems to work. So "show mary happy at right" does nothing, for example. The same command works fine before I start doing anything with screens (in the intro) but after that, it fails.

Help, please!

Donmai
Eileen-Class Veteran
Completed: Toire No Hanako, Li'l Red [NaNoRenO 2013], The One in LOVE [NaNoRenO 2014], Running Blade [NaNoRenO 2016], The Other Question, To The Girl With Sunflowers
Projects: Slumberland

Re: Show Character doesn't work in screens?

#2 Post by Donmai »

You can not use the "show displayable" statement inside a screen, but you can use "add".
https://www.renpy.org/doc/html/screens.html#add
No, sorry! You must be mistaking me for someone else.
TOIRE NO HANAKO (A Story About Fear)

olddog

#3 Post by olddog »