Question About Background Music

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Poketto Kunoichi
Regular

Question About Background Music

#1 Post by Poketto Kunoichi »

Hi!

Er, I'm new to this and I'd like to know if using music taken from other games (with credit) is legal. I'm not going to make money off the game. I just want to make sure so I don't get sued if I ever finish and release my visual novel.

Thanks for any help. :)

papillon
Arbiter of the Internets
Completed: lots; see website!
Projects: something mysterious involving yuri, usually
Organization: Hanako Games
Tumblr: hanakogames

Re: Question About Background Music

#2 Post by papillon »

Using other people's stuff is legal if they give you permission.

Credit doesn't make a difference - unless that's the terms of them giving you permission. Some people will let you use their stuff for free with credit, some won't. You gotta ask. :)

Xino
Regular
Projects: W.I.P. Love Demon

#3 Post by Xino »

I would actually like to know the answer to this myself.

Back when people still messed with RPGmaker I always heard a lot of video game music. Credit was always given to the respected game. So I really hope it's an option for Renpy as well.

--Edit-- How do you ask permission for video game music...? Like "Final Fantasy" or "Resident Evil"
Want something drawn? Just ask~! I love to draw! Free of charge!

I <3 Ctrl+Z

Eniko
Regular
Projects: Revenant

#4 Post by Eniko »

Xino wrote:--Edit-- How do you ask permission for video game music...? Like "Final Fantasy" or "Resident Evil"
You contact the company that made the game and ask them for permission. For instance my brother used the Microsoft Sam text-to-speech voice in a game he intended to sell as a community game on XBLA, so he emailed Microsoft asking if it was okay for him to use it. They said yes.