Can you display a Visual Novel on a website?

A place to discuss things that aren't specific to any one creator or game.
Forum rules
Ren'Py specific questions should be posted in the Ren'Py Questions and Annoucements forum, not here.
Sadiesins
Deviantart: gabriellekelly

Can you display a Visual Novel on a website?

#1 Post by Sadiesins »

Hey, I'm totally new to this stuff, so I apologize if this is the dumbest question ever. >_> I'm looking at using Ren'Py to create my visual novel, but I know this is going to be a long journey, one I would prefer could be enjoyed with others. I have a website, and I'm trying to figure out if I can somehow display the draft versions of my visual novel on my website where readers/players can interact with it through their web browsers instead of downloading it and playing it away from the website. Do you know if there is a way to basically display a visual novel on a website--or maybe launch it from the website in a different window without the file being downloaded? If so, would there be drawbacks to doing this that I might not know which could be why I don't see this done much?

My goal is to be able to have the visual novel on my website (be it free or part of one of my subscription tiers) while it's being made, therefore bringing people back to the site to play. Is this moving into something like flash/java territory (of which I know nothing about either >_<) or is it something that can be done with Ren'Py? Would it be better to make 2 versions, one that can be displayed on a website while the other is distributed as a download? I'd obviously prefer the path of least resistance, but at the same time, I'm in the plotting/design stages, so I could plan this all in as part of the process.