Tips for Preventing Laggy/Slow Game?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
malakme

Tips for Preventing Laggy/Slow Game?

#1 Post by malakme »

So I'm new to Ren'py and game development as a whole, but I want my first project to be a relatively big one (my estimate is something like 25,000+ lines of code right now). I've heard about people having issues with larger games slowing down, so I figured I'd be proactive and ask if there's anything I can do or learn how to do to prevent that.

Like are there any coding organizational techniques I should know to help save space? Should I be using as few PNGs as possible (I've heard they take up space)? Any tips you've gathered from your own experience will help. Thanks!

nature1996
Regular

Re: Tips for Preventing Laggy/Slow Game?

#2 Post by nature1996 »

Generally speaking, trying not to do a 10009 thing at the same time is a good idea. Try to do them when needed. for size, trying to combine scene that are the same but in different path is a good idea I guess (also help with typo), either by using call/return rather than jump, or by having a variable keeping track of the path you are on.

But other than that, I don't think there is much more you can do as a writer, as I think this might be a problem native to python. Make sure to make new scene from time to time, and not just pile thing, be careful when using music, especially the format (same for the picture).

I'm not that knowledgeable on the subject, but I hope that these bit and pieces can help a bit.
Je parle aussi français

LateWhiteRabbit
Eileen-Class Veteran
Projects: The Space Between