About a Patch or file that will replace words in the main script.rpy

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
staffofmagic

About a Patch or file that will replace words in the main script.rpy

#1 Post by staffofmagic »

HI, I'm gong to be creating a Visual Novel but before I do I wanted to get some information about Patches if possible. The easiest way possible as I am a complete Noob at Renpy, just started using it a few weeks ago, so dont know much. I know a bit of HTML and CSS but not Python.

So I wanted to know if anyone can explain to me a simple way to create a patch file that when placed into the game folder would overwrite the dialog in the main script.rpy file, as that is where the main dialog will be.

For example lets say I wanted to change one of the characters in the games name to something different or maybe their relationship, but I want to do it in a way that still keeps the emotions going in script.

I was thinking that I could write to separate game files, but that would be double the work, so I would like to avoid that if possible.

any help is greatly appreciated. thanks so much

isobellesophia
Miko-Class Veteran
Completed: None
Projects: Maddox and Friends! (AI Teacher friend), Friendly Universities! (Soon)
Organization: Friendly Teachers series
Deviantart: SophBelle
itch: Child Creation

Re: About a Patch or file that will replace words in the main script.rpy

#2 Post by isobellesophia »

Yes, you can seperate files like script.rpy and screens.rpy, just like how they work each other.