Button containing button images and text

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
EOWNERDEAD

Button containing button images and text

#1 Post by EOWNERDEAD »

I am extremely new to Ren'py, but I've been managing to get a handle on imagebuttons, textbuttons and styles without much of a problem. The one thing I've been playing around with that I simply cannot get a grip on this the 'button' screen interface.

What I am trying to accomplish is the creation of a button that contains an image and a piece of text. When either is in a hovered state, the button should show the hovered version of the image. A visual representation is below:
button example.png
button example.png (8.55 KiB) Viewed 567 times
The triangle represents the button's idle and hover images while the text is obviously the text. As mentioned, hovering the button or the text should show the image's hovered state.

Taking examples and trying to work backwards has been fruitless, so I tried to start small.

Code: Select all

screen mybutton():
    button:
        action NullAction()
        add "images/2_idle_right.png" xpos 910 ypos 450
        text "The text of the button" xpos 1140 ypos 615
The code above will produce the look I want. But when trying to add a hover image or additional buttons, things start going off the rails.

Code: Select all

button:
        action NullAction()
        add "images/2_idle_right.png" xpos 910 ypos 450
        text "The text of the button" xpos 1140 ypos 615

button:
        add "images/2_idle_left.png" xpos 700 ypos 445