recall a user previous choice later on the game

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
sousarja

recall a user previous choice later on the game

#1 Post by sousarja » Sat Nov 14, 2020 12:02 pm

Hello everyone, first and foremost, respect and thank you to all Developers.
I'm trying to create a VN (by myself) focused on the story itself and soundtrack, since there is no 'ability' or hardware for anything else since I am no developer.

Secondly, I'm trying to find the best option to recall/callback a first or previous choice made by the user that further on the game will have an impact on the story, like a new branch/path or involvement of another character.

I read this here: https://www.renpy.org/wiki/renpy/doc/tu ... er_Choices but I'm unsure if this will be applicable to the new Ren'py version, and also if this will mean that I will always have to add the new bits of code bringing back the entire code-behind due to that first choice.

This is what I have:

Code: Select all

# This is a variable that is True if you have requested her number, and False
# otherwise.
default number = False
And then:

menu:

"Ask for the number.":
        jump number

"Leave it alone.":
        jump alone

label number:

$ number = True
Finally:

if number:
    N "...etc..."

girl ".......?!"
If I want to use that first choice again to develop this branch/path it will no longer allow me since the 'variable' was already called for.

I have read other options, but usually are to gain points or earn money, when using an activity/work or until there are no more choices left available for the user.