Problem with the choice of path (way or rute) in the game and lose quick_menu

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
anel0001
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 9:32 am
Deviantart: anel0001
Location: Kazakhstan
Contact:

Problem with the choice of path (way or rute) in the game and lose quick_menu

#1 Post by anel0001 »

Hello!
Please help me.
I'm sorry if my English is a bit lame, it's not my native language.

How can I make sure that after the prologue, the player immediately gets to the menu (screen) of choosing a path (way or rute or love interest) in the game?

I created a screen that can be accessed from the main menu. There are heroes, a description of them. When you click on one of them, the screen of this character comes out - from here you can go to the gallery, add-ons and the first chapter. But for some reason, when I click on start playing - I lose quick_menu.

Please prompt me how I can solve these problems!

User avatar
Alex
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3094
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the choice of path (way or rute) in the game and lose quick_menu

#2 Post by Alex »

If your path-choosing screen shown from main menu, you should start the path via Start("label_name") action.
https://www.renpy.org/doc/html/screen_a ... html#Start

User avatar
Enchant00
Regular
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:17 am
Contact:

Re: Problem with the choice of path (way or rute) in the game and lose quick_menu

#3 Post by Enchant00 »

If its the game menu just use

Code: Select all

ShowMenu()
If you created a screen in the game menu, just use the same code above

Code: Select all

ShowMenu(screen=Name of your screen)

anel0001
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 9:32 am
Deviantart: anel0001
Location: Kazakhstan
Contact:

Re: Problem with the choice of path (way or rute) in the game and lose quick_menu

#4 Post by anel0001 »

Hello.
I have an error:

Code: Select all

I'm sorry, but errors were detected in your script. Please correct the
errors listed below, and try again.


File "game/script.rpy", line 1056: expected statement.
    Start(screen = 'mainstory'):
                               ^

Ren'Py Version: Ren'Py 7.3.5.606
Tue Jan 05 19:00:04 2021
I need, as in mobile for example visual novels, after the prologue to choose the path (love interest).
I created a screen:

Code: Select all

screen mainstory():
    tag menu
    imagemap:
        ground "gui/caracter_selection.png" ##фон
        idle "gui/character_selection/character_selection_normal.png"
        hover "gui/character_selection/character_selection_hover.png"

        hotspot(1087, 586, 125, 125) action ShowMenu("main_menu")
        hotspot(26, 80, 535, 157) action ShowMenu("character_y_menu")
        hotspot(30, 244, 531, 152) action ShowMenu("character_m_menu")
        hotspot(29, 401, 533, 154) action ShowMenu("character_n_menu")
        hotspot(733, 77, 533, 157) action ShowMenu("character_h_menu")
        hotspot(737, 241, 532, 155) action ShowMenu("character_k_menu")
        hotspot(15, 583, 383, 117) action ShowMenu("character_introductions")

And from there you can, for example, choose a story line with K:

Code: Select all

screen character_k_menu():
    tag menu
    imagemap:
        ground "gui/character_selection/character_k_menu.png"
        hover "gui/character_selection/character_menu_hover.png"

        hotspot (195, 574, 379, 120) action ShowMenu("gallery_k") ##gallery
        #(832, 86, 382, 114) action Start("volume_k") ## Date Volume
        #(834, 209, 376, 109) action Start("1date") ## Sequel
        #(832, 329, 380, 104) action Start(2date") ## Date Scenario
        hotspot(1085, 577, 125, 125) action ShowMenu("mainstory") ##back for screen mainstory

I searched on the forum, but I can't find it.
Please help me.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users