Error: end of line expected

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
neometalero
Veteran
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 3:51 am
Completed: My Dream Sport Dating Simulator, Attack Helicopter Dating Simulator
Projects: My Dream Sport Dating Simulator, Attack Helicopter Dating Simulator
Deviantart: neometalero
Contact:

Error: end of line expected

#1 Post by neometalero »

I have this screen that shows with a transformation

Code: Select all

show screen palabraIra at saltoRapido
but Im getting the error "end of line expected", no idea what im doing wrong.
Working on many weird narrative games at Curse Box Studios
Image
https://www.curseboxstudios.com/

Xiael
Regular
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:13 am
itch: Xiael
Discord: message me first here
Contact:

Re: Error: end of line expected

#2 Post by Xiael »

Does the error go away if you delete "at saltoRapido"?
If yes then you can't use transforms with screens. What you can do is that you can but the transform inside your screen and add an on show/hide to it.
Like so:

Code: Select all

transform transformName:
   on show:
      alpha 0
      linear 1 alpha 1
   on hide:
      alpha 1
      linear 1 alpha 0


screen screenName:
   frame at transformName:
      text "stuff"

Anime sprite commissions $30 per character: viewtopic.php?f=62&t=60703&p=536689#p536689

User avatar
neometalero
Veteran
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 3:51 am
Completed: My Dream Sport Dating Simulator, Attack Helicopter Dating Simulator
Projects: My Dream Sport Dating Simulator, Attack Helicopter Dating Simulator
Deviantart: neometalero
Contact:

Re: Error: end of line expected

#3 Post by neometalero »

Xiael wrote: Tue Apr 19, 2022 1:14 pm Does the error go away if you delete "at saltoRapido"?
If yes then you can't use transforms with screens. What you can do is that you can but the transform inside your screen and add an on show/hide to it.
Like so:

Code: Select all

transform transformName:
   on show:
      alpha 0
      linear 1 alpha 1
   on hide:
      alpha 1
      linear 1 alpha 0


screen screenName:
   frame at transformName:
      text "stuff"

That was the solution, tks!
Working on many weird narrative games at Curse Box Studios
Image
https://www.curseboxstudios.com/

User avatar
neometalero
Veteran
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 3:51 am
Completed: My Dream Sport Dating Simulator, Attack Helicopter Dating Simulator
Projects: My Dream Sport Dating Simulator, Attack Helicopter Dating Simulator
Deviantart: neometalero
Contact:

Re: Error: end of line expected

#4 Post by neometalero »

The only problem I have now it's the frame, there is any way to do this without the frame being shown?
Working on many weird narrative games at Curse Box Studios
Image
https://www.curseboxstudios.com/

User avatar
neometalero
Veteran
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 3:51 am
Completed: My Dream Sport Dating Simulator, Attack Helicopter Dating Simulator
Projects: My Dream Sport Dating Simulator, Attack Helicopter Dating Simulator
Deviantart: neometalero
Contact:

Re: Error: end of line expected

#5 Post by neometalero »

I solved it using an imagebutton

Code: Select all

screen palabraIra:
    imagebutton at saltoRapido:
        idle "BotonesOpcion/pp01.png"
        hover "BotonesOpcion/pph01.png"
        action [Jump("situacion09IraSum")]
    text "{size=+40} [eligIra] [pers1Ira] {/size} " at saltoRapido #muestra la palabra elegida
Working on many weird narrative games at Curse Box Studios
Image
https://www.curseboxstudios.com/

User avatar
Alex
Lemma-Class Veteran
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Error: end of line expected

#6 Post by Alex »

neometalero wrote: Tue Apr 19, 2022 3:32 pm The only problem I have now it's the frame, there is any way to do this without the frame being shown?
You can set frame's background to None

Code: Select all

frame:
    background None
    at saltoRapido
    text "???"

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]