As a Solo Dev, What is your workflow? [conversation]

Forum organization and occasional community-building.
Forum rules
Questions about Ren'Py should go in the Ren'Py Questions and Announcements forum.
YumaDazai
Regular
Projects: PD9

As a Solo Dev, What is your workflow? [conversation]

#1 Post by YumaDazai »

As a solo dev, I often find myself jumping around, going from scripting to art to coding. I can't seem to just stick to one thing until it's done enough to go to the next. For example, I keep jumping from script writing to working on Defining things in the code, to concept art.

So, I wanted to ask, Where do you guys start, and what is your workflow?
Programmer that will work paid and or for free! Message me on discord for more info at: Yuma#8158

Ben The Sodaman

Re: As a Solo Dev, What is your workflow? [conversation]

#2 Post by Ben The Sodaman »

Hi YumaDazai,

I'm still starting out - having gravitated to Ren'Py during my first game jam with seven days remaining. Grain of salt here until someone doing this longer also weighs in.

I think each developer will approach the situation differently. Where I was more inclined to write the story with scripting with placeholder comments for things I would like to have. Whether that's a camera zoom in or shake (still learning this), a character getting in another character's face, audio that I would like to have, expressions that I would like a character to show, or a background or location that I don't have yet.

So for me, the flow looked like:
* Scripting
* Coding and troubleshooting with placeholder graphics, audio, characters (e.g., backgrounds being solid colors with a tiny bit of text to let me know if the location loaded at all, sound effects made with my mouth or brief humming to let me know if something at least loaded/played, and characters tending to be the same character sprite with some chicken scratch on their artwork to signify they are a different character)
* Art - backgrounds