Sending Data from RenPy-Web-App to Server

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
renpynewbie27

Sending Data from RenPy-Web-App to Server

#1 Post by renpynewbie27 »

Hello,
I am relatively new to RenPy and am developing an application that sends game decisions at the end of a game run to a server for evaluation. Intuitively I wanted to solve this with POST requests, but according to the documentation this doesn't work. At the moment I am afraid that this is not possible with RenPy Web. But I wanted to ask here if someone who knows better knows a workaround or can confirm that it is not possible.
The server on which the RenPy application is running is the same one to which the data should be sent.
Thanks in advance for the answers!

PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom

Re: Sending Data from RenPy-Web-App to Server

#2 Post by PyTom »

This is kind of hard to do, because of the security implications of the web. What you have to do is to use the emscripten module to execute javascript that calls the fetch api.

As a question, what sort of data are you trying to send? I'm wondering if I could come up with a fairly limited API that works on both desktop Ren'Py and in the browser (perhaps something that takes json and returns json).
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

renpynewbie27

#3 Post by renpynewbie27 »

First of all, thank you for your answer!