[SOLVED ]Assign SFX to right-click?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
picklejuice

[SOLVED ]Assign SFX to right-click?

#1 Post by picklejuice »

I was just wondering if it were possible to add a sound effect to the right click button- like how when you click the return button and add a sfx to it I want the right-click to make the same sound so all the menus are coherent.

I'm not very experienced with coding so I was going through the documentation trying to make up something and this is what I came up with. (Obviously doesn't work but I guess it's a good visual of what I'm trying to do.)

(I did these sections of code separately from each other, not at the same time)

screen keymap_screen():
key ['mouseup_3'] action [activate_sound] "sfx/menuout.ogg"

init python:
config.keymap['game_menu'].append('mouseup_3'):
activate_sound "sfx/menuout.ogg"

Ideally when you right-click in game and it takes you to the save menu it would make a different sound effect then if you right-clicked too dismiss a menu- But I don't know if this is even possible in general. If it is but too advanced I'll give up on it though. If anyone has any insight I'd really appreciate it!
Last edited by picklejuice on Sun Feb 25, 2024 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

m_from_space
Eileen-Class Veteran

Re: Assign SFX to right-click?

#2 Post by m_from_space »