Problem launching Ren'Py (Linux)

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
ephi

Problem launching Ren'Py (Linux)

#1 Post by ephi »

Hello everybody,

I'm a complete newbie. I just found out about Ren'Py and was immediately thrilled to give it a try and start making games.
However, when I try to launch Ren'Py on my laptop (Ubuntu 10.04) all I get is a black square flashing up for barely 1 second. (I installed it via the Ubuntu Software Center.)

Can anybody please help me? Any ideas what the problem could be or how to (start to) resolve it?

Thanks in advance! <3

MaiMai
Yandere
Completed: [Phase Shift]
Projects: [ None ]
Organization: Paper Stars
Tumblr: maiscribbles
Deviantart: maiscribble

Re: Problem launching Ren'Py (Linux)

#2 Post by MaiMai »

Did you download a script editor like jEdit? You need a script editing program to code your games

If you haven't, here: http://www.renpy.org/wiki/renpy/Editors

Edit: Also, almost forgot to mention, but when you download the editor of your choice, put the folder in the Renpy folder so it works properly and the program can launch
Image COMMISSIONS AVAILABLE (check Tumblr sidebar)

PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom

#3 Post by PyTom »

I'd suggest running it from the command line, so you can see if any error messages are produced.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

ephi

#4 Post by ephi »

Thank you very much for the fast reply!