Page 28 of 38

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:29 pm
by nyaatrap
PyTom wrote:nyaatrap>>> We're 64 bit on Mac and Linux already. I'm not sure what 64-bit on windows would give us - are you running out of memory?
I'm using windows 10 64bit. When I run a RPG I programmed, it crashed around 1~1.5GB RAM usage. So I made 700~800MB usage game, but I'm still getting error reports of out of memory error from users who played the RPG.
Actually, out of memory error is one of the most fluent error to me. Using ren'py is as if fighting against out of memory error.

[edit]I guess Out of memory error is somewhat incorrect, since it appears beneath 1GB RAM usage.

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 11:12 am
by trooper6
Would it be possible to have a focus_mask that applies to the displayable of a Drag for the purpose of drop detection?

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 1:27 am
by PyTom
Not easily. (I guess it could be possible, but frankly, I don't think that drag-drop is used enough to justify the amount of special-purpose work that would need to be done.)

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 1:30 am
by trooper6
PyTom wrote:Not easily. (I guess it could be possible, but frankly, I don't think that drag-drop is used enough to justify the amount of special-purpose work that would need to be done.)
No worries! Just wondering!

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:53 pm
by nyaatrap
Can screen statement 'key' take a list? I always have to code two lines like the following, even it's a simple one key function:

Code: Select all

for i in ["a","A", "repeat_a", "repeat_A"]:
   key i action DO

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 8:02 am
by nyaatrap
Can textbutton take key statement like normal button?

Code: Select all

button key "save_delete" action FileDelete(slot) #This works
textbutton "name" key "save_delete" action FileDelete(slot) #This doesn't work

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 10:09 am
by PyTom
The answer is - not easily. This is a problem, but I need to find a good way of fixing it. (Imagebutton has the same problem - which is that the statement itself implies what it's children should be.)

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:07 pm
by xela

Code: Select all

xoffset - int

    Gives a number of pixels that are added to the horizontal position computed using xpos and xalign.

yoffset - int

    Gives a number of pixels that are added to the vertical position computed using ypos and yalign.
Any chance of this becoming "offset" with two int values like padding/margin have with .11? This remains sort of "half" implemented, a thing as a transform properties and throws errors in screens + not a thing in style docs.

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:03 am
by ketskari
Papagayo (open source lip syncing software) support? Just being able to assign phonemes to dialogue text would be great, even if audio syncing isn't perfect. The other option for someone with limited coding skills seems to be making custom animations for each line of dialogue:

Code: Select all

image tet OEWQ:
    "tet/O.png"
    .2
    "tet/E.png"
    .4
    "tet/etc.png"
    .4
    "tet/WQ.png"
    .2
    "tet/etc.png"
    1.5
...for hundreds of lines.

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:49 pm
by PyTom
I've added offset to the todo list. I'll consider papagayo support, but I'd need someone to make a half-dozen or so lip-synced lines.

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:36 am
by AXYPB
nyaatrap wrote:Can textbutton take key statement like normal button?

Code: Select all

button key "save_delete" action FileDelete(slot) #This works
textbutton "name" key "save_delete" action FileDelete(slot) #This doesn't work
I'd like to see similar support for other screen elements, for example, allow mouseup_2 to reset a bar value to a default.

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:25 pm
by Alex
When I've pressed the "Install SDK ..." button, it downloaded SDK, but didn't created the "extras" folder at all... So I had to run "SDK Manager.exe" and download it manually. Is it ok or is this a problem with my os?

Also, the name of folder wasn't "play_apk_expansion" but "market_apk_expansion", so I had to rename it as well (it also was stated here - viewtopic.php?f=8&t=38014&hilit=play_apk#p411518). Could this be fixed?
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'D:\\renpy-6.99.9-sdk\\rapt\\android-sdk-r24.4.1/extras/google/play_apk_expansion/downloader_library/project.properties'

Windows-XP-5.1.2600-SP3
Ren'Py 6.99.10.1227
Ren'Py Launcher 6.99.10.1227

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:35 am
by jack_norton
My major gripe with Ren'Py right now is the fact that on every update, the Android setup gets lost. You need to do "install SDK & Create Keys" even if you have just done it. I probably have downloaded the SDK at least 5-6 times since beginning of year :)
I am talking of course about updating Ren'Py with the auto-updater itself. If you download a new version on a new folder, it's normal that the Android SDK is not recognized.
Not sure of course how easy/hard would be to autodetect if the SDK is already downloaded and unpacked in the current renpy folder, but it would be a very welcome feature :)

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:39 am
by maricore
this isn't exactly a bug but... i just have one small request.
can you add a gallery button as a default with renpy?
because adding a gallery button code is SO MUCH PAIN
and I'm sure if people who doesn't want it, they would just delete the scrips in screens.rpy, we will be able to customize it with image maps like we do with everything else.
can you include that in the next version of renpy? I will be so grateful.

Re: Ren'Py Gripes

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 12:41 pm
by nyaatrap
I think the galley class need to be rewritten somehow before merging it.
Because its syntax is far from the screen language, and it requires to manually type all images to assign even they're already assigned by image folder.

(I personally don't use the gallery class, because Its code is visually ugly with no indentation.)