Making a find-the-differences mini game.

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Nyu
Regular

Making a find-the-differences mini game.

#1 Post by Nyu »

I'm trying to make a find-the-differences between 2 pictures mini game. But I don't know how. >-<

Like thise *o*:

Please tell me how to. If you could use normal vocabulary it's better since I'm not a pro at programing~
Thanks in advance!! ^ ^

KimiYoriBaka
Miko-Class Veteran
Projects: Castle of Arhannia

Re: Making a find-the-differences mini game.

#2 Post by KimiYoriBaka »

You can use an imagemap (built-in renpy feature that shows a picture then makes clickable spots). Just use the same file for each of the hotspots (the places to click) so that they don't show when you put the mouse over them.

This would probably allow the player to just press enter to cheat, but I'm sure most people wouldn't realize that.

More specifically, this is how to do it in screen language, starting with an example:

Code: Select all

init:
    $ found1 = False
    $ found2 = False

screen differences:

imagemap:
        ground "atispot.png"

hotspot (740, 232, 75, 73) clicked SetVariable(found1, True)
        hotspot (832, 232, 75, 73) clicked SetVariable(found1, True)
        hotspot (1074, 232, 75, 73) clicked SetVariable(found2, True)
        hotspot (1166, 232, 75, 73) clicked SetVariable(found2, True)

if found1:
        add "circle.png":
            xpos 323
            ypos 200

if found2:
        add "circle.png":
           xpos 403
           ypos 233

label minigame:

if !(found1 and found2):
        show screen differences
        jump minigame