idiot question but...

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
clubanimon
Regular
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

idiot question but...

#1 Post by clubanimon »

To my knowlage Ren'Py is fine with (( ' ))s
but while using SciTE i noticed that anywhere i have somthing like havn't or I'm the code was getting scerwed up, like its wasn't registering Labels labes or scene coding as scenes.
So i went back and put \ as a character cancle but it still didnt' seem to be fixing the entier problem and it was making new ones.
I\'m was being registered but if i changed a you\'re it did nothing.
I'm at my wits end since i can't test my game so far since the end return wont register as a return comand
help ;_;[/i]
Last edited by clubanimon on Sun Apr 24, 2005 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Megaman Z
Miko-Class Veteran
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 8:45 pm
Projects: NaNoRenO 2016, Ren'Py tutorial series
Location: USA
Contact:

#2 Post by Megaman Z »

okay, this is what I could make out of this...

A) you're using SciTE.

B) it's not registering labels or scene coding.

C) using "\" as a character escape doesn't help

D) you need help

if I'm wrong, correct me on what's wrong.

(I can't help you, as I haven't used SciTE. period.)
~Kitsune Zeta

User avatar
clubanimon
Regular
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

#3 Post by clubanimon »

yeah, but its nt just a SciTE problem as Ren'Py won't register then end return and i keep getting the:

ParseError: On line 119 of game/script.rpy: is not terminated with a newline (check quotes and parenthesis).

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

#4 Post by PyTom »

I'm somewhat confused by what is being asked. Please send me any error messages that you're getting, and perhaps email me a copy of you script so I can check it for parse and/or coding errors.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
clubanimon
Regular
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

#5 Post by clubanimon »

Thanks tom, i'm a little shy to show it since i'm sure its full of mistakes ^^;

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

#6 Post by PyTom »

Okay, let me reply to one of your issues here, and then I'll respond to the rest privately.

In your game, you wanted to have the vast majority of of dialogue in quotes, so you wrote a number of lines of the form:

Code: Select all

cima "\"I think my name is a very strange one."\"
There's basically two problems here. The first is that you got the escaping wrong here. So the first quote at the end is what ends the screen, and then the second quote serves to confuse Ren'Py to no end.

A correct way to write it would be:

Code: Select all

cima "\"But there is, in fact, a good reason for it.\""
But wait, there's more. As you probably have already found out, typing in all those escaped quotes can get very annoying. So I actually added in a method which can add the quotes in automatically.

When you declare a character, you can define the what_prefix and what_suffix, which give text that is prepended and appended to the line of dialogue that is being said (respectively). So you can write:

Code: Select all

init:
    $ cima = Character("Cima", what_prefix="\"", what_suffix="\"")

cima "You'll probably find it out, eventually."

And that line of dialogue will show up in quotes when it is run.

The moral of the story: If you're trying to do something in Ren'Py, and it seems too hard, ask. Many times, there's an easier and better way.

I'll respond to the rest of your script privately.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
clubanimon
Regular
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

#7 Post by clubanimon »

;_____; i love you

User avatar
clubanimon
Regular
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

#8 Post by clubanimon »

just to double check:

init:
$ n = Character('Nawat',what_prefix="\"", what_suffix="\"", color=(000, 102, 255, 255))

would be the right way to decare it with color as well?

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

#9 Post by PyTom »

;_____; i love you
I'm just here to help.
$ n = Character('Nawat',what_prefix="\"", what_suffix="\"", color=(000, 102, 255, 255))
That seems to be right, but of course Ren'Py is the final arbiter.

BTW, you probably want to put Ren'Py code inside [ code ] [ /code ] BBcode tags, so that it is properly indented when displayed here.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
clubanimon
Regular
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

#10 Post by clubanimon »

hm...i just got this error while debuging. it happens right after the first backround is called but before any test starts. Do i needs to make a frame for the text?

I'm sorry, but an exception occured while executing your Ren'Py
script.

Exception: Couldn't find file 'frame.png'.

The last script statement executed was on line 112 of game/script.rpy.[/code]

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

#11 Post by PyTom »

clubanimon wrote:hm...i just got this error while debuging. it happens right after the first backround is called but before any test starts. Do i needs to make a frame for the text?

I'm sorry, but an exception occured while executing your Ren'Py
script.

Exception: Couldn't find file 'frame.png'.

The last script statement executed was on line 112 of game/script.rpy.[/code]
Yes. Or else you need to decide that you don't need a frame for the text, in which case you need to delete the line that calls for it.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

chronoluminaire
Eileen-Class Veteran
Posts: 1153
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 4:57 pm
Completed: Elven Relations, Cloud Fairy, When I Rule The World
Tumblr: alextfish
Skype: alextfish
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

#12 Post by chronoluminaire »

You can see near the top of the demo game , there's a line which says:

Code: Select all

 $ style.window.background = Frame("frame.png", 125, 25)
This line is expecting an image called "frame.png" in the game directory. If you don't want to specify a background image to your windows, then you could make it all green by saying:

Code: Select all

$ style.window.background = Solid((0, 255, 0, 255))
Those four numbers in brackets each range from 0 to 255, and specify the red, green, blue and opacity of the solid colour. One way to make it all transparent would be to instead use:

Code: Select all

$ style.window.background = Solid((0, 0, 0, 0))
Because opaqueness 0/255 = totally transparent.

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

#13 Post by PyTom »

As a minor tidbit of knowledge...

If you don't want a background at all on a window, it's best to write:

Code: Select all

$ style.window.background = None
While having a Solid with 0 opacity will work, Ren'Py will spend a little bit of time drawing that Solid to the screen. (As much as one can ever draw something that is transparent.) By specifying None, it will omit the drawing process, and the whole system will run that much faster.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

User avatar
rioka
Royal Manga Tutor
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 12:21 pm
Completed: Amgine Park, Garden Society: Kykuit, Metropolitan Blues (art)
Location: somewhere in NY
Contact:

#14 Post by rioka »

PyTom wrote:When you declare a character, you can define the what_prefix and what_suffix, which give text that is prepended and appended to the line of dialogue that is being said (respectively). So you can write:

Code: Select all

init:
    $ cima = Character("Cima", what_prefix="\"", what_suffix="\"")

cima "You'll probably find it out, eventually."
Was this available when I was making GSK? Cuz if it was - X__X Gaaaahhh!

User avatar
PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Posts: 16096
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:58 am
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom
Location: Kings Park, NY
Contact:

#15 Post by PyTom »

eclipse wrote:Was this available when I was making GSK? Cuz if it was - X__X Gaaaahhh!
Yes, it was. IIRC, I added it right around the time I was making Moonlight Walks, since without it... as you said... Gaaaahhh!

I believe this was added in in 4.4.1 or 4.4.2, but my current version control doesn't seem to go back that far.

If there is something annoying about making a game with Ren'Py, especially something annoying that needs to be done alot, then bring it to my attention. One of the goals of Ren'Py is to make making games easier. So if there's something that's not doing that, it's a bug, or at least a wart.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Amazon [Bot], Bing [Bot]