BG/Character Art/Scene Enhancement Process

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
hoihoisoi
Regular
Projects: The Lost Sheep Of Purgatory 「煉獄の亡羊」
Organization: House Of Duematrix
Tumblr: HouseOfDuematrix

BG/Character Art/Scene Enhancement Process

#1 Post by hoihoisoi »

Hey everyone, I'm just curious because I'm an art newbie but what is your BG/Character Art/Scene enhancement or touch-up process. This means after all the line art and coloring is completed, what effects and filters do you tend to use to enhance the final product to make it stand out or to make it blend better with all the other elements in the image. I'm just wondering because I've seen a before and after of images with and without effects and it makes quite a world of difference to the final product.

I'm not asking for anything specific, but in general what tools do you tend to go for when you reach this stage of the art creation process and why. If you have an example of your enhancement process and you feel like sharing it, that'd be even better. But overall, what thoughts goes into your enhancement process and in regards to that what tools do you use to enhance the image at hand (Something like if you want to warm up the scene you'd likely go for a photo filter orange effect).

Thanks and hopefully it'll be a discussion everyone will be interested in reading. X)
Current Active Project:
[Mystery, Comedy, Drama]
[Kinetic Novel]

Check it out by clicking on the siggy above!

indoneko
Miko-Class Veteran

Re: BG/Character Art/Scene Enhancement Process

#2 Post by indoneko »

Sorry that I didn't bring the before-after samples, but here are some tools that I use frequently :
1. Level adjustment : to increase dynamic range (making the overall image colors look better)
2. Blur : make the image looks softer, or to emulate DoF & speed (with certain types of blur effect)
3. Hue & saturation : for general color adjustment (especially when an ambient is involved)