Have an animation repeat and gradually slow down?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
trailsiderice
Regular

Have an animation repeat and gradually slow down?

#1 Post by trailsiderice »

Hello! I'm looking to make a sort of shake effect that i could apply to the camera or specific sprites. This thread here had what is almost a perfect solution, but the animation ends kind of abruptly. I'm not very good with ATL, so I'm not really sure where to start with this, but I want to know how I can get started modifying this code so that, after repeating a few times at normal speed, the animation continues to repeat a few more times, gradually slowing down with each repeat. Is this something that can be done with ATL?

Here's the code I have, only slightly modified from the code in the linked thread:

Code: Select all

transform shake(rate=0.09,times=3,xoff=10.0,yoff=10.0):
    ease rate xoffset xoff yoffset -yoff*3
    ease rate xoffset -xoff + 0.8 yoffset -yoff
    ease rate xoffset xoff + 0.8 yoffset -yoff
    ease rate xoffset -xoff yoffset -yoff*3
    ease rate xoffset +0 yoffset +0
    repeat times

thelastsecret
Regular
Completed: The Last Secret
Projects: Sweet Science – The Girls from Silversee Castle
itch: thelastsecret
Discord: TheLastSecret #5266

Re: Have an animation repeat and gradually slow down?

#2 Post by thelastsecret »

I see two possibilities:
1. The easy & ugly one: just do not use repeat, but copy-paste and adjust to your liking.