Integration of Renpy & Pyspeech?

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
mncdeleon

Integration of Renpy & Pyspeech?

#1 Post by mncdeleon »

Hey there ^^, umm I'm new to Renpy & Python in General so yeah ...
does anyone know if it's possible to use pyspeech in renpy?
& how do you code it? ._.

We're kind of developing a reading game for dyslexic children & we took an interest in renpy
cause it seemed to be the easiest engine to work on.
The idea is, the child should read/repeat the words in the screen or what the character in the screen has said..

PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom

Re: Integration of Renpy & Pyspeech?

#2 Post by PyTom »

Do you want speech synthesis, or speech recognition. The latter is much harder - probably too hard for practical use.
Supporting creators since 2004
(When was the last time you backed up your game?)
"Do good work." - Virgil Ivan "Gus" Grissom
Software > Drama • https://www.patreon.com/renpytom

mncdeleon

#3 Post by mncdeleon »

PyTom wrote:Do you want speech synthesis, or speech recognition. The latter is much harder - probably too hard for practical use.
speech recognition, apparently :|
so we'd know how fast the reader could read
or if he could read it correctly.

do you have an idea how should this be done? :cry:

PyTom
Ren'Py Creator
Completed: Moonlight Walks
Projects: Ren'Py
IRC Nick: renpytom
Github: renpytom
itch: renpytom

#4 Post by PyTom »