How long did it take?

Questions, skill improvement, and respectful critique involving art assets.
Rozume
Veteran
Completed: Munster Academy, boy
Projects: Coming of Age VN
Organization: Cosmic Visual
IRC Nick: Rozume

How long did it take?

#1 Post by Rozume »

We all know that art takes years, YEEAARRS, to cultivate and master. I've heard somewhere that it takes 5-10 years for one to get to a professional level, maybe even longer. So I was wondering how long did it take to get to your level? What advice would you give to your younger self to make your process seem faster or better?

For me, I've been doodling since I was little but I've never really seriously started drawing until a couple of years ago. When I about 12 I started drawing anime figures and that's all I did until I was 16/17 when I started to focus on studying from reality. I'm 19 now.

Some advice I would give myself:
-Do not start from anime/manga or any other style. I've learned that drawing in any type of style is a difficult and highly advanced skill (because you have to distort/break reality). It's like starting to learn how to run before you can walk.
-Observe from reality. Reality is the foundation of all things.
-Learn foundational skills such as value, perspective, composition. You can't build a house without a foundation.
-Do not avoid the hands and feet. I always do this, and it really hurts my figure drawings because of it.

Fungii
Veteran
Completed: Home's Embrace
Projects: Royality TV
Tumblr: fungiidraws
itch: fungii

Re: How long did it take?

#2 Post by Fungii »

Idk about the style thing, I started by being influenced by anime and I'd say I've reached a decent point for about 10 years of work. People tend to push the realism thing so hard on kiddies that they end up with the impression that what people are telling them is that they need to master realism before they even try to stylise when for me it's always been just noticing stuff irl and stylising it anyway.