[SOLVED] How to wrap text around image

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
Abalone
Projects: Abenteuer mit Blech + Herz

[SOLVED] How to wrap text around image

#1 Post by Abalone »

Hello there,

I'm pretty new to Ren'py and the forums so please don't beat me if I ask a question that's as old as Methuselah :-)

I'd like to start a paragraph with an initial which is an image. Problem is, the text starts at the top of the image and at the point the line breaks the text continues below the image which leaves an ugly gap.

1. What would be awesome is that the text floats around the image - is there a way to assign something like a vertical and horizontal margin to the image and the text next to the image then wraps around it?

2. Second best solution would be that the first line of text doesn't start at the top of the image but at the bottom - this would avoid the ugly gap in the paragraph.

Thanks in advance :-)
Abalone
Last edited by Abalone on Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

papiersam
Veteran
Completed: Gem Hunt Beta, 1/Probably, Animunch
Projects: The Panda Who Dreamed

Re: How to wrap text around image

#2 Post by papiersam »

I don't know how you've coded the text, but you could always try image text tags (though I've never tried it myself).

Abalone

Re: How to wrap text around image

#3 Post by Abalone »

r_sami wrote:I don't know how you've coded the text, but you could always try image text tags (though I've never tried it myself).
That's the way I did it and it doesn't work as wanted :-)

Code: Select all

label start:

scene bg_book