Invisible idle problem – Can't make the buttons work the way I want to

Discuss how to use the Ren'Py engine to create visual novels and story-based games. New releases are announced in this section.
Forum rules
This is the right place for Ren'Py help. Please ask one question per thread, use a descriptive subject like 'NotFound error in option.rpy' , and include all the relevant information - especially any relevant code and traceback messages. Use the code tag to format scripts.
JonuFilms

Invisible idle problem – Can't make the buttons work the way I want to

#1 Post by JonuFilms »

Hello dear Ren'Py people,
I'm pretty new to Ren'Py, so maybe this is a dumb question.
But I've been struggling with this for a week now, and couldn't find any solution yet.

So, I have a movie as background, and I there are sections (like a door, or a character) and when hovered over them, a button should appear next to them or within them (like walk, or talk). I figured, because my background is a movie, I can't use imagemap and set my movie as ground and set hotspots.
So I came up with an ugly workaround: I used an imagemap and added an idle image with 1% opacity, and I have the hover button image as hover. But when I hover, there's this flickering of the button. There must be an elegant solution to this. I'm really hoping for your (beginner-friendly)help.
My code so far:

screen SewersOverlayScreen():
add Movie(play="images/backgrounds/sewers.webm")

imagebutton:
focus_mask True
idle "images/Overlays/SewersOverlayBoy.png" #<- The image with 1% opacity
hover "images/Btns/TalkBtnSewersBoy.png"
hover_sound "audio/FX/softKlick.wav"
action Jump("SomeLabel")

Attached is an image that displays my actual setup.
Attachments
reddit renpy question1.png
(2.26 MiB) Not downloaded yet

m_from_space
Eileen-Class Veteran

Re: Invisible idle problem – Can't make the buttons work the way I want to

#2 Post by m_from_space »